36.6 C

APC screening panel disqualifies 10 presidential aspirants




THE All Progressives Congress (APC) presidential screening committee has disqualified ten of the twenty-three aspirants jostling for the party’s ticket.

Chairman of the Committee John Odigie-Oyegun made this known when he submitted the panel’s report to the party’s National Chairman Abdullahi Adamu, at the party’s secretariat in Abuja, on Friday.

The list of the aspirants cleared cleared to participate at the party’s presidential primary, scheduled to hold between June 6 and 8, and those disqualified from participating in the event, is yet to be made public at press time.

However, Oyegun hinted that youthful aspirants made the list of cleared aspirants.

But he did not provide details.

Reacting to Oyegun’s hint, a US-based media scholar and newspaper columnist, Farooq Kperogi, in a tweet, suggested that Tinubu and Osinbajo might be among those disqualified for being old.

- Advertisement -

Aspirants screened by the seven-member panel include a former Lagos State Governor, Bola Tinubu; Vice President Yemi Osinbajo; a former Minister of Science and Technology, Ogbonnaya Onu and Senate President, Ahmad Lawan.

Others are Rotimi Amaechi, Ajayi Borroffice, Godswill Akpabio, Rochas Okorocha, Ibikunle Amosun, Tunde Bakare, Ben Ayade, Dave Umahi, Kayode Fayemi, Emeka Nwajiuba, Ken Nnamani, Yahaya Bello, Badaru Abubakar and Ahmed Yerima, Uju Kennedy Ohnenye, Nicholas Felix Nwagbo, Dimeji Bankole, Timipre Sylva, Ikeobasi Mokelu andTein Jack Rich.

Author profile

You can reach out to me on Twitter via: vincent_ufuoma

Support the ICIR

We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.


If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Support the ICIR

We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.



Buhari campaigns for Tinubu in Nasarawa

PRESIDENT Muhammadu Buhari on Saturday joined the All Progressives Congress (APC) presidential campaign in...

Zulum to revoke banks’ land over refusal to dispense new naira notes

BORNO State Governor Babagana Zulum has threatened to revoke the land of any bank...

Despite multi-million naira investment Zauro Polder irrigation project abandoned in Kebbi

When the federal government commenced the Zauro polder irrigation project in 2007, the hope...

2023: Nigerians will vote for SDP – Adebayo

THE presidential candidate of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), Adewole Adebayo, has said many...

2023: My priorities if I emerge president – SDP candidate

THE presidential candidate of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), Adewole Adebayo, has outlined security,...

Most Read


Subscribe to our newsletter