28.4 C

Buhari asks Senate to confirm Justice Kayode Ariwoola as substantive CJN


PRESIDENT Muhammadu Buhari has asked the Senate to confirm Justice Olukayode Ariwoola as the substantive Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN).

Justice Ariwoola is currently the Acting CJN following the resignation of Justice Tanko Muhammad.

Buhari’s request was contained in a letter read at Tuesday’s plenary by Senate President Ahmad Lawan.

Justice Kayode Ariwoola takes oath of office as Acting CJN

Confusion as spokesman says he’s not aware of CJN’s resignation

CJN reacts to protest letter signed by 14 Supreme Court justices

CJN’s sons win APC, PDP NASS tickets in Bauchi

The President said in the letter that the request was in line with constitutional provisions and urged the Senate to expedite action on the matter.

Similarly, the President forwarded the names of five nominees to the Senate for confirmation of appointment as non-executive directors of the board of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN).

The President, in the letter, explained that the request to confirm the nominees was made in accordance with Section 10(3)(a) of the Central Bank of Nigeria (Establishment) Act 2007.

The nominees for confirmation include: Mike Idiahi Obadan (South-South), Justitia Odinakachukwu Nnabuko (South-East), Ummu Ahmed Jalingo (North-East) and Adeola Adetunji (South-West).

Buhari, in the same vein asked the Senate to confirm 19 persons nominated as Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Five of the REC nominees are for renewal of appointments while 14 are for fresh appointments.

The nominees for confirmation include Ibrahim Abdullahi (Adamawa – Renewal), Obo O. Effanga (Cross River – Renewal), Umar Ibrahim (Taraba – Renewal), Agboke Mutiu Olaleke (Ogun – Renewal); and Samuel E. Egwu (Kogi – Renewal).

    Others are Onyeka Pauline Ugochi (Imo), Muhammad Lawal Bashir (Sokoto), Prof. Ayobami Salami (Oyo), Zango Abdussamadu Abdu (Katsina), Queen Elizabeth Agwu (Ebonyi), and Agundu Oliver Tersoo (Benue).

    Also to be confirmed are Yomere Gabriel Oritsemlebi (Delta), Yahaya Makarfi Ibrahim (Kaduna), Nura Ali (Kano); Agu Sylvia Uchenna (Enugu), Ahmed Yushau Garki (FCT), Hudu Yunusa (Bauchi); Uzochukwu Ikemefuna Chijioke (Anambra) and Mohammed B. Nura (Yobe).

    The Senate was equally asked to confirm Suleiman Agha Afikpo as commissioner representing the South-East zone at the National Hajj Commission of Nigeria.

    The request was in accordance with the provisions of Section 3(2) of the Hajj Commission Act. Cap. 321, Laws of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 2004.

    Nurudeen Akewushola is an investigative reporter and fact-checker with The ICIR. He believes courageous in-depth investigative reporting is the key to social justice, accountability and good governance in the society. You can shoot him a scoop via nyahaya@icirnigeria.org and @NurudeenAkewus1 on Twitter.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.


    Radda, Abdulrazaq take oath of office

    DIKKO Radda and Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq have been sworn in as the governors of Katsina...

    Buhari departs Abuja for Daura

    FORMER President Mohammadu Buhari on Monday, May 29, departed Abuja, Nigeria's capital, for his...

    Tinubu, Shettima inaugurated as President, VP at Eagle Square

    FORMER governor of Lagos State Bola Tinubu, has been officially sworn in as the...

    Tinubu sworn in as President of Nigeria

    FORMER Lagos State governor, Bola Tinubu, has been sworn into office as the President...

    EFCC chairman, Matawalle fight dirty over corruption allegations

    ECONOMIC and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) Chairman Abdulrasheed Bawa and outgoing governor of Zamfara...

    Most Read

    Subscribe to our newsletter