20.2 C

Buhari names train stations after Awolowo, Soyinka, Ekweume, Tinubu, others




PRESIDENT Muhammadu Buhari has named railway stations across the country  after some prominent Nigerians citizens including late former Premier of Western Region, Obafemi Awolowo, Wole Soyinka, Nobel Laureate, Vice Yemi Osinbajo.

A statement by the Federal Ministry of Transportation on Monday also listed Bola Tinubu, National Leader of All Progressives Congress (APC), Babatunde Fashola, Minister of Works and Housing.

In the statement released by Eric Ojiekwe, Director of Press of the Transportation Ministry, the selected prominent Nigerians described as ‘deserving’ have by President Buhari’s definition contributed to the progress and development of their respective communities and the nation at large.

According to Rotimi Amaechi, the Minister of Transportation, the president approved the naming of stations along the Lagos-Ibadan and Itakpe/Ajaokuta/ Aladja/Warri corridors after the deserving Nigerians.

In the statement, Kajola Station is named after Vice President Osinbajo, Apapa station was named after Bola Ahmed Tinubu, while Agege Station is named after Minister of Works and Housing, Fashola.

Other notable Nigerians named after train station include Lateef Jakande (Agbado station), Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti (Papalanto station), Wole Soyinka (Abeokuta station), Aremo Segun Osoba (Olodo station) Ladoka Akintola (Omio-Adio station) Obafemi Awolowo (Ibadan station) and Alex Ekwueme (Operation Control Centre).

Meanwhile, in June, President Buhari approved the naming of the Railway Complex in Agbor after former President Goodluck Jonathan.

Author profile
- Advertisement -

Seun Durojaiye is a journalist with International Center for Investigative Reporting (ICIR).

Support the ICIR

We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.


If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Support the ICIR

We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.



IATA slams Nigerian government over Emirates’ blocked funds

THE International Air Transport Association (IATA) has slammed the Nigerian government over its failure...

Lagos State government extends ‘okada’ ban to four LGAs, five LCDAs

THE Lagos State Government has extended the ban on the activities of commercial motorcycles,...

Opponents spreading fake news, blaming LP – Peter Obi

LABOUR Party (LP) presidential candidate Peter Obi has accused his opponents in the 2023...

Meedan offers grants to combat climate misinformation

MEEDAN is accepting applications for the Check Global Independent Media Response Fund, which addresses global challenges...

NLC slams Akwa-Ibom CJ, demands Inebehe Effiong’s release 

THE Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) has asked the Chief Judge of Akwa-Ibom State, Justice...

Most Read


Subscribe to our newsletter