34.1 C

Columbia University offers J. Anthony Lukas Awards




COLUMBIA University is accepting applications for the J. Anthony Lukas Prize Project Awards which recognises excellence in nonfiction that exemplifies the literary grace and commitment to serious research and social concern.   

Four awards will be given, two J. Anthony Lukas Work-In-Progress Awards, the J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize, and the Mark Lynton History Prize. 

The J. Anthony Lukas Work-in-Progress Awards gives US$25,000 annually to aid in the completion of a significant work of nonfiction on a topic of American political or social concern. No entry fee is required. 

Writers and authors of nonfiction books can compete for cash prizes. 

The J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize awards US$10,000 annually to a book­-length work of narrative nonfiction on a topic of American political or social concern. 

The Mark Lynton History Prize awards US$10,000 to a book­-length work of history on any topic that best combines intellectual distinction with felicity of expression. 

A US$75 entry fee per book is required for the J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize and the Mark Lynton History Prize. 

The deadline for the submission of entries is December 8, 2022. Interested applicants should apply here. 

Author profile

Blessing Otoibhi is a Multimedia Journalist and Anchor host for the News in 60 seconds at The International Center For Investigative Reporting. You can shoot her a mail via Botoibhi@icirnigeria.org or connect on Twitter @B_otoibhi

Support the ICIR

We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.


If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Support the ICIR

We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.



Police assure train passengers of safety

THE Nigeria Police Force (NPF) has assured train passengers of safety and reiterated its...

Buhari swears in former IGP, Arase as PSC chairman

PRESIDENT Muhammadu Buhari has sworn in former Inspector General of Police (IGP) Solomon Arase...

Nigerians continue to patronise loan apps despite crude ways of fund recovery

NIGERIANS from all walks of life have continued to patronise loan apps despite their...

Drivers involved in fatal crashes to be prosecuted as FRSC clamps down on traffic violators

THE Federal Road Safety Corps (FRSC) says it has begun preparations to prosecute drivers...

Rimba, the FCT community on the brink of herders-farmers crisis escalation

Last year, 2022, holds terrifying memories for farmers in Rimba, a remote community in...

Most Read


Subscribe to our newsletter