Edo APC Falls Apart As Top Chieftains Dump Party

Fourteen senior special assistants to Governor Adams Oshiomhole of Edo State, three directors and one board chairman in the state have resigned their appointments and membership of the All Progressives Congress, APC.

The News Agency of Nigeria, NAN, reports that the officials openly resigned their appointment and membership of the party on Monday in Benin during an enlarged meeting of some aggrieved members of the APC.

More than 3,000 members of the party in the state also resigned their membership during the meeting.

Former chairman of the defunct Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN, in the Edo State, Tony Omoaghe, told newsmen that the aggrieved members resigned due to lack of internal democracy in the APC.

Omoaghe, who convened the meeting, listed the flawed membership registration and congresses of the party held recently as part of reasons for their action.

“On April 24, stakeholders of the party across Edo met and gave the governor a seven-day ultimatum to cancel the very questionable party membership registration as well as the dubious ward and local government congresses. The ultimatum has since expired; the governor has not complied with our request,” he said.

Omoaghe said that no efforts were made to address the flawed membership registration and congresses.

“He did not even show good faith, all we witnessed were his attempt to woo aggrieved members individually by offering them Greek gift,” he said.

Some aides of the governor who resigned their appointment include Osaretin Edosuwan, SSA on project monitoring and Festus Ewu, SSA on energy and water.



    Edosuwan accused Oshiomole of running a one man government, adding that he never takes counsel from his appointed advisers.

    “We own the structure which the governor used to climb to where he is today and he is now practising the godfatherism which he preached against. There is no need having advisers the governor does not listen to, the governor does not take advice from anybody.”

    The executive director, Edo State Poverty Alleviation Agency, Evelyn Omokhodion, the executive director, Consumer Protection Agency, Efosa Ogbe, the chairman, Edo Courier Service, Frank Erewele, and the chairman Edo Land Use Committee, Segun Ose, also resigned their appointments and membership of the party.

    Some party chieftains who also resigned their membership were former S ecretary to the Edo State Government and Chief of Staff, Ise Iyamu, former speaker of Edo State Assembly, Bright Omokhodion, and Tony Omoaghe.

    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement


    - Advertisement