26.1 C

Governor Al-makura sacks 8 commissioners, Other Aides



1min read

The governor of Nasarawa State, Tanko Al-makura, on Friday sacked eight of his commissioners and five senior aides, including Innocent Lagi, the Commissioner for Justice and Attorney General of the state, and Iliyasu Yakubu, the Director of Press.

Governor Al-makura, in a press statement issued on Friday by the Secretary to the State Government, Zainab Abdulmumin, did not give any reason for his action.

The statement stated that Al-makura directed all the sacked commissioners to hand over to their accounting officers before September, 23, 2014.

The sacked commissioners are Innocent Lagi, Commissioner for Justice; Angama A. Weibey, Commissioner for Rural and Community Development; Muhammad Sani Yakubun- Hauwa, Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology and Danladi Madaki Commissioner for Agriculture and Water Resources.

Others are Adamu Mu’azu Adogi, Commissioner for Environment and Natural Resources; Godwin Tyowua Mbatsav, Commissioner of Sports and Youth Development; Samuel Meshi Commissioner of Culture and Tourism and Amos Akawu, Commissioner of Planning and Deputy Chairman, Nasarawa State Planning Commission.

The affected aides are Iliyasu Ali Yakubu, the Director of Press affairs; Sulaiman Abdul-Wahab Sulaiman, Executive Secretary, Nasarawa State Scholarship Board; Idris Abdullahi, Executive Secretary, Nasarawa State Emergency Management Agency; Daniel Ajegina, Managing Director, Nasarawa Investment and Property Development Company and Murtala Adogi Muhammad Special Assistant on Youth Empowerment.

Support the ICIR

We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.


If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Support the ICIR

We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.



2023: INEC extends deadline for primaries

THE Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has extended the deadline for the conduct of...

2023: Olujimi wins Ekiti South PDP senatorial ticket

LAWMAKER representing Ekiti State South Senatorial District, Biodun Olujimi, has secured the Peoples Democratic...

Lai Muhammed’s son loses bid to return to Lagos Assembly

THE son of the Minister of Information and Culture, Folajimi Mohammed, has lost his...

Peter Obi joins Labour Party to continue his presidential ambition, two days after dumping PDP

A former presidential aspirant on the platform of the People's Democratic Party (PDP), Peter...

Twitter investors sue Musk, platform for alleged stock manipulation

TWITTER investors are suing Elon Musk and the social media platform over the handling...

Most Read


Subscribe to our newsletter