Osun election: Do everything lawful to ensure APC’s victory, Adamu charges campaign council

NATIONAL Chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Abdulahi Adamu has asked the campaign council for the Osun State governorship election to do everything within the law to ensure victory for the party.

Adamu gave the marching order while inaugurating the 86-member council at the party secretariat in Abuja on Thursday.

The council is co-chaired by Lagos State Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu and his Kano State counterpart Abdullahi Ganduje.

According to Adamu, the council has been mandated to secure the re-election of Governor Gboyega Oyetola.

The APC chairman stressed that he has zero-tolerance for failure.

“Nobody should come back to us crying, failure is not our own by the grace of God. Whatever it takes within the laws of the land, I said go for it, win the election.

“Let them go complain. Let them go wherever. Let’s win the election. We have no apologies whatsoever for this posture because these two elections are for the best to the national election coming up in 2003.

“It will go in our credentials that we have the winning track record. This National Working Committee that you elected, we have a commitment. So, we must be prepared to face him eyeball to eyeball.”

Briefing journalists at the end of the inauguration, Ganduje said the campaign council would follow due process to bring victory for the party.

Ganduje also promised that the council would reach out to all the aggrieved members of the party in the state.

    “To win the election, the council will start with the reconciliation of all aggrieved members of the party. Winning the election is absolutely necessary but by following due process, following all democratic ideals.

    “But we assure you, we must start with reconciliation to ensure that the party is intact and the machinery is on the right footing. We know all that led to the election being inconclusive. But this time around, it will be conclusive,” the Kano State governor said.

    The election, which is slated for July 15, will be contested by not less than 18 candidates from different political parties.

    Incumbent Oyetola of the APC and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate Ademola Adeleke are the leading contenders.

    You can reach out to me on Twitter via: vincent_ufuoma

    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.


    Most read