Owo massacre: Names, photos of victims released as church conducts mass burial

The Catholic Diocese of Ondo on Friday conducted a mass burial for victims of the terrorist attack on St. Francis Catholic Church, Owo, Ondo State.

The ICIR reported that several worshippers were killed, while many others were injured when gunmen suspected to be Islamic State West Africa Province (ISWAP) terrorists attacked the church on June 5, 2022.

The burial mass was attended by governor of Ondo State Rotimi Akeredolu and a former governor of the state Olusegun Mimiko.


Owo attack: Ekiti, Osun, Oyo declare three days of mourning

Owo terror attack: South-West will not be silenced, says Akeredolu

Anguish, horror, pain: INSIDE STORY of Owo Catholic Church shootings

Owo terror attack was a message to South-West, says Soyinka

Also present at the mass were the Bishop of the Catholic Diocese of Ondo Jude Arogundade and the Bishop of the Catholic Diocese of Sokoto Matthew Kukah, as well as priests, friends and families of bereaved.

Oyo, Ondo, Osun, Lagos and Ekiti state governments had announced days of mourning in honour of the victims of the massacre.

According to the church authorities, not less than 40 people died from the attack while many others were badly injured.

    Names and photos of the victims of the killings, which include children and the aged, have been released by Ondo State commissioner Bamidele Ademola Olateju.

    The list of the victims is as follows:

    Sir and Lady Ajanaku, Virginus Ani, Fabian Emeka Nweke, Deborah Onuoha, Chukwudi Onuoha Justinah Ugwumadu, Njoku Emmanuel Chukwuemeka, Ani Chidiogo, Caroline Aina Agboola, Umunna Okafor, Oluwatoyin Akinyemi, Christiana Oladepe Olajide, Bridget Ozulumba, Regina Nnabife, Mr. Obuche, Andegbe Gift, Okefi Cordelia, Onah Chijioke, Sunday Mary, Ekun Roseline Funmilayo, Omolola Monogbe, Eze Chikamso, Anthony Onuyi Ojapah, John Bosede Testimony and Monogbe Omolayo John.

    The list of the victims
    Photo credit: Facebook/ Bamidele Ademola Olateju
    The list of the victims
    Photo credit: Facebook/ Bamidele Ademola Olateju
    The list of the victims
    Photo credit: Facebook/ Bamidele Ademola Olateju

    Others are Mathilda Ogungbade, Edwin Loveth, Onileke Esther Ilerioluwa, Funmilola Madinat, Ugwummadu Ekene, Umunna Chisom, Oluchuk Evaristus, Timothy Ugwu, Asebioyi Esther, Onyebuchi Onyeka, Theresa Ogbu and Ben Olowa.

    Omolola Pedro is a Reporter/ Fact-Checker at The International Centre for Investigative Reporting. She believes in a society that is fair to all. She has deep interest in Gender Equality, Social Justice, and protection of human rights.

    You can reach out to her via mail [email protected], Twitter:@pedro_omolola

    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.


    Most read