29.1 C

Owo attack: Ekiti, Osun, Oyo declare three days of mourning




THE governments of Ekiti, Osun and Oyo have declared three days of mourning in their respective states as a mark of solidarity with the people of Ondo State over the June 5 terrorist attack on Saint Francis Catholic Church, Owo.

The decision was announced in separate statements issued by the three state governments on Monday.

According to the statements, the mourning period is from Monday, June 13 to Wednesday, June 15, 2022.

Flags are to fly at half-mast in all public buildings and offices during the three days of mourning.

While commiserating with the victims and their families, the Osun State government prayed for the quick recovery of all the injured persons who are still receiving medical treatment.

About 40 persons died in the attack on St Francis Catholic Church, Owo, by gunmen alleged to be members of the Islamic State West Africa Province (ISWAP).

Author profile

You can reach out to me on Twitter via: vincent_ufuoma

Support the ICIR

We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.


If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Support the ICIR

We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.



PVCs collection starts December 12, include weekends – INEC

THE Independent National Electoral Commission says the collection of Permanent Voter Cards will be...

Amid dwindling oil revenue, non-oil sector contributes 73% to FG’s account – Finance Minister

THE Federal Government has lauded the non-oil sector for contributing 73 per cent to...

Qatar 2022: Ghana’s penalty woes return, but Uruguay still fall short

ANOTHER crucial penalty miss paved the way for Ghana's group-stage exit. In 2010, the Black...

Nasarawa employs 300 health workers after ICIR’s reports

THE Nasarawa State Government has employed 300 health workers to boost primary healthcare services...

Ekiti to establish special courts to end gender-based violence – Governor’s wife

WIFE of Ekiti State Governor, Olayemi Oyebanji, has said that gender courts will be...

Most Read


Subscribe to our newsletter