30.8 C

Sanwo-Olu, Ganduje to lead APC’s 86-member campaign council to Osun governorship election




THE Lagos State governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, and his Kano State counterpart, Abdullahi Ganduje, will be leading the All Progressives Congress’ (APC) 86-member National Campaign Council to the Osun State governorship election.

This was contained in a statement issued in Abuja yesterday, Tuesday, June 21, 2022 by the party’s National Secretary, Iyiola Omisore.

The council also has Governors Abubakar Sani Bello of Niger, Abubakar Atiku of Kebbi, Abubakar Badaru of Jigawa, Nasir El-Rufai of Kaduna and Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti states as co-chairmen.

Other co-chairmen are Babagana Zulum of Borno, Yahaya Bello of Kogi, Inuwa Yahaya of Gombe, Aminu Masari of Katsina, Abdulrahaman AbdulRazaq of Kwara and Abdullahi Sule of Nasarawa states.

Others are Rotimi Akeredolu of Ondo, Dapo Abiodun of Ogun, Hope Uzodinma of Imo, Simeon Lalong of Plateau, Mai Mala Buni of Yobe, Dave Umahi of Ebonyi, Ben Ayade of Cross River and Mohammed Matawalle of Zamfara states.

The remaining two members of the council are the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila; and the Senate President, Ahmed Lawan.

- Advertisement -

According to the statement, the council would be officially inaugurated by the party’s National Chairman, Abdullahi Adamu, on Thursday, June 23, 2022.

The governorship election, which is scheduled to hold on July 16, has the incumbent governor, Gboyega Oyetola of the APC, and Ademola Adeleke of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as the leading candidates.

Author profile

You can reach out to me on Twitter via: vincent_ufuoma

Support the ICIR

We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.


If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Support the ICIR

We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.



Present state of some high profile EFCC corruption cases

THE Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) is prosecuting high profile cases in various...

Adeleke: INEC appeals tribunal’s judgment on Osun election

THE Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has filed an appeal against the Governorship Election...

N805m fraud: Senator arrested, sent to prison after months on the run

THE Senator representing Delta North in the National Assembly, Peter Nwaoboshi, has been sent...

Buhari sacks NSITF boss, Akabogu over NYSC certificate scandal

PRESIDENT Mohammed Buhari has fired Michael Akabogu, the Managing Director/Chief Executive of the Nigeria...

Nigeria Labour Congress elects new President

THE Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) has elected Joe Ajaero as its new National President. Ajaero,...

Most Read


Subscribe to our newsletter