Security Forces Take Charge, Enforce Curfew In 6 Nasarawa Committees

By Godwin Ojoshimite

A dusk to dawn curfew imposed on six local governments in Nasarawa State owing to recent insecurity took effect Saturday.

Security agents including troops deployed by the federal government to the state took positions on strategic streets to ensure strict adherence to the curfew.

Governor of the state, Tanko Al – Makura gave a list of the affected communities on the state television on Friday, warning that security operatives have been directed to deal with anyone found violating the curfew.

    “Government has decided to ban the movement of motorcycles between 7:00pm and 6:00am in Awe, Doma, Keana, Lafia, Obi, Nasarawa Eggon and Akwanga Local Government Areas of the State,” he said.

    The governor assured the people of the state that government will not rest on its oars until the perpetrators of the dastardly act are made to face the full wrath of the law.

    A week ago, scores were killed and many houses razed in a renewed fracas between the outlawed Ombatse militiamen and Alago people at Assakio community in Lafia Local Government Area of Nasarawa.

    Al – Makura called on all well-meaning citizens and communities to continue to be vigilant and remain steadfast in prayers in its collective resolve to bring back love, peace and progress to the state.


    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement