State elections: The winners, losers and hopefuls

RESULTS have been pouring in from Saturday’s fiercely-contested gubernatorial and state assemblies elections. In many states of the federation, the winners have been announced and the losers have known their fate, while for some it is still too close to call.

The election, however, was a chaotic exercise across almost all the states of the federation, one marred by massive incidences of violence and electoral irregularities.

So far, the major surprises have been Oyo State, where the opposition People’s Democratic Party (PDP) defeated the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), and perhaps in Ogun State, where the APC candidate emerged the winner despite not being supported by the sitting governor.

Official results have been announced in 18 out of the 29 states where elections held and winners returned elected, in the other states, however, the collation process is either still ongoing or the election has been declared inconclusive.

Of the already announced results, APC won in 11 states, while the PDP won in seven.

But in Rivers State, all electoral processes have been called off altogether as a result of massive violence.

Here is a summary of how things played out across the several states, as have already been announced by INEC:

ABIA: The incumbent Governor, Okezie Ikpeazu (PDP), polled a total of 261,127 votes to defeat his closest challenger, Uche Ogah of the APC who scored 99,574 votes. Thus, Abia maintained its history of having been led by only PDP governors since 1999.

Governor Emmanuel Udom of the PDP was re-elected for a second term in office.

AKWA IBOM: Many had thought that the defection of the former Governor of the State, Godswill Akpabio, from the PDP to the APC could prove fatal to Governor Emmanuel Udom’s chances of winning a second term in office. But that was not to be as the incumbent governor was declared the winner of the election with a total of 519,712 votes. Nsima Ekere of the APC polled 171,978.

LAGOS: No surprise there as Jide Sanwo-Olu of the APC was returned elected having polled 739, 445 as against the 206,141 votes garnered by Jimi Agbaje of the PDP. Both the incumbent Lagos State Governor, Akinwumi Ambode, and the PDP candidate, Agbaje, have already congratulated the governor-elect, Sanwo-Olu.

ENUGU: Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of the PDP was returned elected. He trounced his major challenger, Ayogu Eze of the PDP by 449,935 votes to 10, 423.

KWARA: The demystification of the Saraki dynasty was completed as the PDP lost all the local governments in the state. Kwara is the State of the Senate President, Bukola Saraki, who had been governor of the state for eight years before his anointed candidate, Abdulfatah Ahmed, took over and is about completing his eight-year tenure.

The APC took over Kwara State with the victory of Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq.

However, following Saraki’s departure from the APC, and the subsequent launch of the O to ge (enough is enough) movement, the Saraki dynasty came crashing down as PDP lost the presidential and national assembly elections in the state.

On Saturday, the APC candidate, Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq won the election with a total of 331,546, while Razak Atunwa of the PDP polled 114,754 votes. Similarly, the APC won all the seats in the Kwara State house of assembly.

OGUN: The APC won the election by a slim margin. Its candidate, Dapo Abiodun, scored a total 241,670 votes to defeat Adekunle Akinlade of the Allied People’s Movement (APM) whose votes totalled 222,153 votes. Akinlade lost the election despite having the backing of the incumbent governor, Ibikunle Amosun, but he has rejected the results, saying he would utilise all available options to seek redress.

KATSINA: Governor Aminu Bello-Masari of the APC won a second term in office with a total of 1,178,864 votes, as against PDP’s Garba Yakubu Lado who polled a total of 488,621 votes.

NIGER: With a total of 526,412 votes, Governor Abubakar Sani Bello of the APC was returned elected for a second term in office. His closest challenger, Umar Nasko of the PDP polled 298,065 votes.

Nasir El-Rufai returs for a second term as Governor of Kaduna State.

KADUNA: Former FCT Minister, Nasir El-Rufai (APC) was declared the winner of the Kaduna guber polls, having scored 1,045,427 votes, to beat his opponent, Isah Ashiru of the PDP, who scored 814,168 votes.

NASARAWA: The APC also won the Nasarawa election in Nasarawa State and its candidate, Abdullahi Sule, returned elected with 327,229 votes. David Ombugadu of the PDP scored 184,281 votes,

EBONYI: Governor Dave Umahi of the PDP polled the highest number of votes, 393,043, to defeat his rival, Sonni Ogbuoji of the APC who polled 81,703.

GOMBE: Will no longer be called a PDP state as the APC candidate, Inuwa Yahaya, was declared the winner of the election. He polled a total of 364,179 votes to beat the PDP candidate, Bayero Nafada, who scored 222, 868 votes.

OYO: Similar to what happened in Gombe, the ruling party was voted out in Oyo State. Seyi Makinde of the PDP defeated Bayo Adelabu of the APC by  515, 621 votes to 357, 982. Thus, Makinde will take over from Abiola Ajimobi, the incumbent Governor, who also lost his senatorial election on February 23.

CROSS RIVER: The PDP maintained its leadership of the oil-rich state as Governor Ben Ayade has returned elected for a second term having been declared the winner with 381,484 votes. His closest challenger, John Owan-Enoh, of the APC got 131,161.

PDP’s Ifeanyi Okowa retains the seat for another four years.

DELTA: Governor Ifeanyi Okowa of the PDP was returned elected on Monday with a total vote of 925,274. He defeated Great Ogboru of the APC who polled a total of 215,938.

JIGAWA: The APC retained Jigawa following the announcement of Governor Muhammad Badaru as the winner of the election. He polled a total of 810, 933 votes. His opponent, Aminu Ibrahim of the PDP, got 288, 356 votes.

YOBE: This one also goes to the APC. The party’s candidate, Mai Mala Buni, was declared the winner of the election with 444,013. Bello Iliya of the PDP scored only 95, 703.

ZAMFARA: The candidate of the APC, Muktar Idris, was declared the winner of the Zamfara election on Monday. Idris polled 534,541 votes to defeat his PDP’s Bello Matawalle who scored 189,452 votes.

    BEING AWAITED: Final results are still being awaited in Imo, Kano, and Taraba states as at the time of this result.

    In Imo State, results so far announced show a tight race between the candidate of the PDP, Emeka Ihedioha and that of the Action Alliance, Uche Nwosu, son-in-law to the incumbent governor, Rochas Okorocha.

    Kano State, too, is a tight race between the incumbent governor, Umar Ganduje of the APC, and the candidate of the PDP, Abba Kabiru Yusuf, son-in-law to the former governor of the state, Rabiu Kwankwaso.

    INCONCLUSIVE: The election has been declared inconclusive in Adamawa, Bauchi, Benue, Plateau and Sokoto States. This is because the margin between the two leading parties is less than the number of cancelled votes across various polling units in the states. 

    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.


    Most read