32.9 C

Adeleke defeats Oyetola in Osun governorship election




THE Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Adeleke Ademola Jackson Nurudeen as the winner of the 2023 governorship election in Osun State.

Adeleke, 61, defeats Governor Adegboyega Isiaka Oyetola, 67, of the All Progressives Congress (APC) with total votes of 403,371 against 375,027 won by Oyetola, a difference of 28,314 votes.

Adeleke won in 17 local government areas comprising Atakumosa West, Boluwaduro, Ede South, Ede North, Egbedore, Ejigbo, Ife North, Ifelodun, Ila, Ilesa West and Irepodun.

Osun election: Buhari congratulates Adeleke

Osun election: Aregbesola breaks silence after Adeleke’s victory

Osun election: Oyetola reacts to Adeleke’s victory

Osun election: Aregbesola makes U-turn, deletes comment on Adeleke’s victory

- Advertisement -

Other local government areas won by the PDP candidate are Obokun, Odo-Otin, Olorunda, Oriade, Orolu and Osogbo.

The highest votes for PDP come from Osogbo (30,401), Ede North (23,931) and Olorunda (21,350).

Osun Election

Governor Oyetola won in 13 local government areas: Ayedaade, Ayedire, Atakumosa East, Boripe, Ifedayo, Ilesa East, Irewole, Iwo, Ife South, Ife Central, Ife East, Isokan and Ola-Oluwa.

The returning officer Oluwatoyin Ogundipe, a Professor, at exactly 7:19 am, declared Adeleke and his running mate Adewusi Kola Adegboyega, 62, as the winner of the governorship election that was also contested by Akinade Ogunbiyi, 59, of the Accord party, Yusuf Lasun, 61, of the Labour Party, Omigbodun Oyegoke Akinrinola, 58, of the Social Democratic Party and ten other candidates.

“On behalf of the INEC Chairman, I Oluwatoyin Temitayo Ogundipe declare that Adeleke Ademola Jackson Nurudeen, having satisfied the law requirement, is hereby returned elected.”

The total number of registered voters in Osun as of June 2022 is 1,955,657, and not fewer than 1,463,047 have collected PVC before Saturday’s election.

- Advertisement -

This number represents an increase of 17 per cent from 2018 when 1,678,985 registered to vote.

Governor Gboyega Oyetola

Recall that in 2018, the APC narrowly won the governorship poll after a re-run election. Oyetola then won the governorship election by scoring a total number of 255,505 votes, while Adeleke of the PDP polled 255,023 votes.

Adeleke, from the famous Adeleke family of Ede, represented the Osun-west senatorial district between 2017 and 2019 in the National Assembly.

Author profile

Ajibola Amzat, Managing Editor at The ICIR. He can be reached via aaamzat@icirnigeria.org
and @ajibolaamzat on Twitter.

Support the ICIR

We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.


If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Support the ICIR

We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.



Lawyer faults Aisha Buhari over student’s arrest

HUMAN rights lawyer Monday Ubani has faulted the wife of the President, Aisha Buhari,...

Court orders arrest, detention of Chief of Army Staff over contempt

A HIGH Court in Minna, Niger State, has issued a warrant of arrest for...

FG, power firms to embrace automated trading platform in 2023 for transparency – NBET

THE Nigerian Bulk Electricity Trading Company Plc (NBET) has disclosed that all parties in...

Which region is more populated in Nigeria? – applying deductive reasoning to the question

By Bashir Abdulrahman ON November 10, 2022, I received an audio clip of a man...

FG blames state governors for rising poverty, hardship in Nigeria

THE Federal Government has blamed state governors for the high rate of poverty and...

Most Read


Subscribe to our newsletter