Atiku, Osinbajo, Moghalu… Candidates, top politicians who lost their polling units

RESULTS have started trickling in from across the country in the ongoing presidential and national assembly elections which held on Saturday, February 23, 2019. But while some of the results are expected, there were a number of surprises.

Here are some of the big politicians whose party lost in their own polling units:

Atiku Abubakar:- The former vice president and current presidential candidate of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), lost his own polling unit to the incumbent, President Muhammadu Buhari of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

At the Ajiya polling unit 012, in Yola, the Adamawa State capital, where Atiku voted, the APC polled 186 votes against the PDP’s scored 157 votes.

On the other hand, President Buhari won his own polling unit with 523 votes to PDP’s 3, but the APC lost the senatorial poll in the same polling unit.

Yemi Osinbajo:- The Vic President also lost his polling unit to the PDP on Saturday. He voted at polling unit–code 33, unit 2, Victoria Garden City, Lagos, the same polling Unit where Fela Durotoye, the presidential candidate of the Alliance for New Nigeria (ANN) also cast his vote. Osinbjo’s APC polled 229 against the PDP’s 425.

Olusegun Obasanjo: The former President had publicly endorsed Atiku’s candidacy for the 2019 election after having derided him for several years. But Obasanjo’s endorsement mattered very little as the PDP lost in his polling unit securing just 18 votes to the APC’s 87.

Babajide Sanwo-Olu:- The APC lost narrowly to the PDP by 48 votes to 52 at the Femi Okunnu polling unit in Ikoyi, Lagos State, where Sanwo-Olu, the APC governorship candidate in Lagos State, voted.

Similarly, the PDP lost at the polling unit where Jimi Agbaje voted. Agbaje is the PDP governorship candidate in Lagos state. The APC polled 84 votes to PDP’s 80 votes at the PU.

Kingsley Moghalu:- The presidential candidate of the Young Progressives Party (YPP) also lost to the PDP in Uruagu ward 2, Nnewi, Anambra State where he voted.

In the three polling units located in Uruagu ward two, Moghalu’s YPP polled 58, 41, and 127, as against the PDP’s 137, 145, and 256.

Kingsley Moghalu shortly after voting at his polling unit.

Donald Duke:- Former Governor of Cross River State lost abysmally in his polling unit, scoring just six votes. The PDP there by 291 votes, while the APC got 98 votes.

    Shehu Sani:- The Senator representing Kaduna Central, lost his polling unit to Uba Sani of the APC. He polled a lowly 51 votes to his challenger’s 236, while the PDP scored 34 votes. Shehu Sani is contesting on the platform of the Peoples Redemption Party (PRP).

    Andy Ubah:- The Senator representing Anambra North Senatorial District lost in his polling unit. His younger brother, Chris Ubah, who is running for the same position on the platform of the PDP defeated him 115 to 4 votes.

    The APC also lost the elections at the Central Primary School, Eke, in Udi Local Government Area of Enugu State, where the duo of Geoffrey Onyeama and Osita Ikechukwu, the Minister of Foreign Affairs and the Director General of the Voice of Nigeria (VON) respectfully, voted.

    In the two polling units located at the primary school, the APC polled 51 and 52 while the PDP had 125 and 105.

    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement