26 C

BREAKING: National Judicial Council approves the appointment of nine judges


1min read

The National Judicial Council (NJC) has recommended one judge for appointment into the Supreme Court and eight Judges as the new Chief Justices for Abia, Benue,Ogun, Oyo and Kwara, according to reports from Premium Times.

Their appointment is coming on the heels of the dismissal of two federal judges on October 4, by President Muhammadu Buhari following the recommendations of the NJC.

Three new judges were also appointed for the Ogun State High Court while a new Kadi was named for Kwara State Sharia Court of Appeal. A president was also appointed for the Customary Court of Appeal in Oyo state.


The National Judicial Council under the Chairmanship of the Honourable Mr. Justice Walter Samuel Nkanu Onnoghen, GCON, at its 87th Meeting of 3rd and 4th October, 2018, recommended to President Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR, and Governors of Abia, Benue, Ogun, Oyo and Kwara States, Eight (8) successful candidates for appointment as a Justice of the Supreme Court of Nigeria, Heads of Courts and Judicial Officers.

They are:-

  1. APPOINTMENT OF ONE (1) JUSTICE, SUPREME COURT OF NIGERIA                                               i) Hon. Mr. Justice Uwani Musa Abba Aji, (JCA)
  2. APPOINTMENT OF CHIEF JUDGE, ABIA STATE HIGH COURT OF JUSTICE                                     i) Hon. Mr. Justice Onuoha Arisa Kalu Ogwe
  3. APPOINTMENT OF CHIEF JUDGE, BENUE STATE HIGH COURT OF JUSTICE                               i) Hon. Mr. Justice Aondover Kaka’an
  4. APPOINTMENT OF CHIEF JUDGE, OGUN STATE HIGH COURT OF JUSTICE                                i) Hon. Mr. Justice Mosunmola Arinola Dipeolu
  5. APPOINTMENT OF THREE (3) JUDGES, OGUN STATE HIGH COURT OF JUSTICE                        i) Oludayo Oluwabamise Osunfisan                                                                                                                  ii) Olusola Stephen Oloyede

iii) Olatunde Hassan Oyajinmi

  1. APPOINTMENT OF ONE (1) KADI SHARIA COURT OF APPEAL, KWARA STATE                             i) Zakariyah Abdulrasaq
  2. APPOINTMENT OF PRESIDENT, CUSTOMARY COURT OF APPEAL, OYO STAT                              i) Hon. Mr. Justice Eni Esan
- Advertisement -

The newly appointed candidates will be sworn-in after the approval of the President and their respective State Governors as the case may be.

Soji Oye, Esq

Director, Information

Amos Abba is a journalist with the International Center for Investigative Reporting, ICIR, who believes that courageous investigative reporting is the key to social justice and accountability in the society.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Support the ICIR

We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.


African airlines to lose $8.5bn in 2021- Report

THE  African Airlines Association (AFRAA) has forecast a full-year loss in revenue of $8.5bn...

Many feared dead as truck runs over pupils in Lagos

A TRUCK driver ran over several pupils in Ojodu area of Lagos State, around...

Nigeria’s stock market gains N5bn after six days of losses

NIGERIA'S stock market gained N5 billion on Tuesday after incurring losses for straight six...

Uncertainty over Nigeria’s power privatisation as Buhari sacks AEDC management

PRESIDENT Muhammadu Buhari, on Tuesday, approved the sack of the management of Abuja Electricity...

COVID-19: Nigeria records three more cases of Omicron 

THE Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) has confirmed three additional cases of Omicron,...

Most Read


Subscribe to our newsletter