21.1 C

Buhari congratulates Ekiti State governor-elect, Oyebanji




PRESIDENT Muhammadu Buhari has congratulated the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Biodun Oyebanji on his victory in Saturday’s governorship election in Ekiti State.

In a statement released on Sunday by his Special Adviser on Media and Publicity Femi Adesina, Buhari said the victory was well deserved.

Buhari observed that Oyebanji had contributed to the development of the state before emerging as the governor-elect.


APC’s Oyebanji wins Ekiti governorship election

Ekiti Election: 106-year-old woman votes after 16 times BVAS failure

Ekiti Governorship Election 2022 Dashboard

- Advertisement -

ADC candidate, Oluyode decries ‘shambolic’ conduct of election in Ikere-Ekiti

Buhari also congratulated APC chairman Abdulahi Adamu and the National Working Committee (NWC) on the victory, noting that it was the first under the tenure of the newly elected executives of the party.

He said, “This is a good beginning for you and your team. The APC is getting stronger and more united. The victory of our party in Ekiti is an indication of the confidence of Nigerians in the ability of our great party to deliver quality governance to all.”

The president advised all APC members across the country to see the victory as a good omen for the 2023 general elections.

He urged them to work assiduously to ensure that the party emerges victorious in the Osun State gubernatorial election, which comes up in July.

Meanwhile, Oyebanji emerged winner of the Ekiti State governorship election by winning in the 15 local government areas (LGAs) of the state.

Candidate of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Bisi Kolawole won one LGA.

- Advertisement -

A total of 16 candidates took part in the election.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Returning Officer and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ibadan (UI) Kayode Adebowale declared Oyebanji winner of the election in the early hours of Sunday after all the results across the state’s 16 LGAs had been collated, The ICIR earlier reported.

A total of 351,865 valid votes were recorded from 363,438 voters accredited for the election.

The total number of registered voters in the state is 989,224.

Author profile

Experienced Business reporter seeking the truth and upholding justice. Covered capital markets, aviation, maritime, road and rail, as well as economy. Email tips to jolaoluwa@icirnigeria.org. Follow on Twitter @theminentmuyiwa and on Instagram @Hollumuyiwah.

Support the ICIR

We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.


If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Support the ICIR

We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.



Abducted Nasarawa commissioner regains freedom after five days

ABDUCTED Nasarawa State Commissioner for Information Culture and Tourism Lawal Yakubu Addah has regained...

FG asks Google to ban four loan apps for fraudulent practices

THE Federal Government has asked Google to remove four loan apps from playstore. The apps...

MRA condemns revocation of licenses of 52 broadcast stations

THE Media Rights Agenda (MRA) has condemned the revocation of the licenses of 52...

Terrorists release four more Abuja-Kaduna train abductees

TERRORISTS behind the Abuja-Kaduna train attack released four more victims on Friday. Kaduna-based publisher Tukur...

Nigerians facing mass deportation from UAE cry for help

NIGERIAN nationals in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) are facing forced expulsion from the...

Most Read


Subscribe to our newsletter