Controversy, As Adamawa Chief Judge Sets Up Investigative Panel On Nyako

By Iro Danfulani
The acting chief judge of Adamawa State, Justice Ambrose Mammadi, has instituted a seven-man committee to investigate Governor Murtala Nyako and his deputy, Bala Ngillari, as plans by the House of Assembly to impeach them heightens.

However, there are allegations that the chief judge may have taken the action under duress as soldiers have taken over the road leading to his residence.

The Assembly had last week directed Mammadi to constitute the investigative panel basing its submission on Section 188, subsection 3 & 4 of the 1999 Constitution as amended, stressing that it had formed the two-third majority required by law, which is 20 out of 25 lawmakers in the House who appended their signatures for the governor and his deputy to be investigated

The chief judge had, however, hesitated but in a twist, a press release signed on his behalf by the chief registrar of the Adamawa High Court, Abubakar M. Bayola announced the setting up of the panel to investigate Nyako and his deputy.

“The Hon. Acting Chief Judge Hon. Justice Ambrose D. Mammadi by the powers vested in him under Section 185(5) of the 1999 constitution as (amended) has approved the appointment of seven (7) Man Panel to investigate allegations of Gross Misconduct against the Executive Governor of Adamawa State, Admiral Murtala Nyako and the Deputy Governor of Adamawa State Mr. Bala Ngilari,” the statement said.

It is being alleged in some quarters that the acting chief judge might have been forced to approve the list of the committee by soldiers at gun point.



    When Journalists visited Mammadi’s private residence located at Masakare in Jimeta, armed soldiers were seen patrolling the road, preventing vehicles and pedestrians from passing through.

    The panel will be chaired by Buba Kaimaga (Mubi Northern Zone) while other members include Laraba Hassan (Michika Northern Zone); Njidda Kito (Song Central Zone); Joshua T. Abu (Hong Central Zone); Binanu R. Esthon (Guyuk Southern Zone); Sa’ad Lawan ( Mayo-Belwa, Southern Zone) and Esthon Gapsiso (Genye Southern Zone).

    Proceedings of the panel are expected to be held in public and shall be conducted from of 9 a.m – 5p.m. beginning on Monday for a period of seven days.

    Meanwhile, the tenure of the acting chief judge expires on Tuesday July 8.

    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement


    - Advertisement