25.1 C

Governor Ajimobi Sacks Entire Cabinet




The Oyo State governor, Abiola Ajimobi, has sacked his entire cabinet in an unforeseen reshuffle Monday morning.

A statement signed by the director of cabinet in the state’s civil service, Dotun Omokemi, confirmed that the sack was total as it includes the secretary to the state government, Akin Olajide; chief of staff, Adeolu Akande; all the commissioners as well as special advisers.

No reason was given for the move except that the governor wants to create space for the fresh blood which he intends to inject into governance in other further serve the people.

All the sacked commissioners have been directed to hand over to the permanent secretaries in their various ministries.

Governor Ajimobi in the statement, thanked all members of his dissolved cabinet for the service rendered and wished them well in their future endeavours.

As it stands the governor, the governor is left alone with his deputy, Moses Alake Adeyemo.

An aide of the governor who spoke to our reporter this evening on the condition of anonymity said that the shake up came as a surprise to many of those affected as there had been no indication of such a sweeping action.

- Advertisement -

Those involved in the shake up include:

Hon. Taiwo Otegbeye Hon. Commissioner for Information & Orientation

Hon. Dapo Lam-Adesina Hon. Commissioner for Youth & Sports

Hon. Adetokunbo Fayokun Hon. Commissioner for Education

Mrs. Atinuke Osunkoya Hon. Commissioner for Women Affairs, Community Development & Social Welfare

Alhaja Adetutu Adeyemi Hon. Commissioner for Culture & Tourism

Dr. Muyiwa Gbadegesin Hon. Commissioner for Health

- Advertisement -

Mr. Zacch Adelabu Adedeji Hon. Commissioner for Finance

Hon. Ajiboye Omodewu Hon. Commissioner for Local Government & Chieftaincy Matters

Miss Kafayat Adebisi Adeojo Hon. Commissioner for Physical Planning & Urban Development

Barr. Sunmbo Owolabi Hon. Commissioner for Water Resources

Hon. Peter O. Odetomi Hon. Commissioner for Agriculture, Natural Resources & Rural Development

Barr. Lowo Obisesan Hon. Commissioner for Environment & Habitat

Hon. Adebayo Olagbenro Hon. Commissioner for Trade, Investment & Cooperatives

- Advertisement -

Hon. Abimbola Kolade Hon. Commissioner for Lands, Housing & Survey

Dr. Olaniyi Nurudeen Olarinde Hon. Commissioner for Economic Planning and Budgeting

Alhaji Wasiu Dauda Hon. Commissioner for Establishments and Training

Barr. Bayo Ojo Hon. Commissioner for Justice

Hon. Commissioner for Works & Transport

Hon. Commissioner for Special Duties

Hon. Commissioner for Applied Science and Technology

Mr. Razaq Olubodun Special Adviser (Parastatals)

Dr. Adeyemi Fajingbesi Special Adviser (Development & Intervention Funds)

Alhaji W. A. Gbadamosi Special Adviser (Physical Planning & Urban Development)

Mr. Tayo Koleosho Special Adviser (ICT)

Oyefunke I. Oworu Special Adviser (Trade, Investment & Cooperatives)

Engr. Kayode Adepoju Special Adviser (Infrastructure)

Hon. Yemi Aderibigbe Special Adviser (Transport)

Mr. Gbolagade Busari Special Adviser (Information & Orientation)

Mr. Abayomi Oke Special Adviser (Environment)

Alhaji Fatai Ibikunle Special Adviser (Political Matters)

Tunde Aderounmu Special Adviser (Agriculture)

Hon. Olu Akintola Special Adviser (Culture & Tourism)

Ms. Oluwabunmi Amao Special Adviser (Establishments & Training)

Mrs. Aderonke Adedayo Special Adviser (Due Process)

Mr. Segun Abolarinwa Special Adviser (Special Duties

Dr. Festus Adedayo Special Adviser (Media)

Mr. Tope Fajana Special Adviser (MDGs)

Mr. Akinbiyi Oloko Special Adviser (Budget & Planning)

Hon. Matthew Oyedokun Special Adviser (Solid Minerals)

Engr. Ganiyu Taiwo Fawole Special Adviser (Project Monitoring)

Mr. Yanju Adegbite Special Adviser (BCOS)

Hon. Nurudeen Akinyo Special Adviser (Local Govt.)

Hon. Fatai Buhari Special Adviser (Water Resources)

Mr. Toye Arulogun Special Adviser (Public Affairs)


Support the ICIR

We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.


If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Support the ICIR

We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.



Buhari okays Seplat’s buy of ExxonMobil’s Nigeria unit

PRESIDENT Muhammadu Buhari has okayed and granted consent to Seplat’s acquisition of ExxonMobil’s Nigerian...

State pardon: Ex-govs Dariye, Nyame released from prison

FORMER governors of Plateau and Taraba states, Joshua Dariye and Jolly Nyame, were released...

CWG 2022: Nigerian female athletes outperform male colleagues

AS the Commonwealth Games ends, Nigerian female athletes have outperformed their male colleagues by...

Okada riders embark on violent protest over raid by FCT task force

COMMERCIAL motorcyclists, popularly known as okada riders, on Monday embarked on a violent protest...

2023: Court sets September 7 to hear certificate forgery suit against Tinubu

THE Federal High Court sitting in Abuja has fixed September 7 to hear a...

Most Read


Subscribe to our newsletter