Promoting Good Governance.

LIST: The 15 resident electoral commissioners approved by senate

By ICIR Nigeria

SenateOn Thursday, the senate approved the appointment of 15 of the 27 names nominated by President Muhammadu Buhari in March as Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) of the Independent Electoral Commission (INEC). 

Presenting the report, Suleiman, Nazif, chairman of the senate committee on INEC, explained that the other 12 nominees were yet to complete the screening exercise.

He added that their names would be forwarded to plenary for confirmation once the process was completed.



S/N NAMES                             STATES
1 Godswill Obioma              Abia
2 Ahmed Makama               Bauchi
3 James Apam                    Benue
4 Nwachukwu Orji               Ebonyi
5 Iloh Chuks                        Enugu
6 Nentawe Yilwada             Plateau
7 Umar Ibrahim                   Taraba
8 Emeka Joseph                  Imo
9 Obo Effanga                     Cross River
10 Francis Ezeonu                 Anambra
11 Briyai Frankland                Bayelsa
12 Ibrahim Abdullahi              Adamawa
13 Agboke Olaleke                Ogun
14 Hussaini Pai                      FCT
15 Sadiq Musa                       Kaduna

As of March 4 this year 33 states of the federation are without RECs, which means that even if all the 27 nominees get Senate approval, six states will still not have RECs who head INEC’s operations at the State levels.

The nominees who are yet to be confirmed are: Mike Igini (Delta), Jibrin Zarewa (Kano), Asmau Maikudi (Katsina), Mahmuda Isah (Kebbi), Samuel Egwu (Kogi), Rufus Akeju (Lagos), Mustapha Zubairu (Niger), Sam Olumekun (Ondo), Abdulganiyu Raji (Oyo), Riskuwa Shehu (Sokoto), Kasim Geidam (Yobe) and Bello Mahmud (Zamfara).

Comment on this:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.