back to top

Rivers crisis: Fubara swears in caretaker chairmen for 23 LGAs

THE Rivers State Governor Siminalayi Fubara has sworn-in caretaker chairmen for the 23 Local Government Areas in the state.

The governor had sent the list to the state House of Assembly, led its by factional Speaker, Victor Jumbo On Tuesday, June 18.

The Clerk of the House, G.M. Gillis-West released a statement Tuesday night on  the nomination.

This followed a fresh political crisis in the state, arising from former council chairmen refusing to leave their positions after their terms expired,

The caretaker chairmen sworn in by the governor include:

  • Madigai Dickson – Abua/Odua LGA  
  • Happy Benneth – Ahoada East LGA
  • Daddy John Green – Ahoada West LGA
  • Otonye Briggs – Akuku Toru LGA  
  • Read Also:

  • Reginald Ekaan – Andoni LGA   
  • Orolosoma Amachree – Asari Toru LGA
  • Alabota Anengi Barasua – Degema LGA
  • Anthony Soberekon – Degema LGA
  • Brain Gokpa – Eleme LGA
  • David Omereji – Emouha LGA
  • John Otamiri – Etche LGA –
  • Kenneth Kpeden – Gokana LGA
  • Darlington Orji –  Ikwerre LGA
  • Marvin Yobana – Khana LGA  
  • Read Also:

  • Chijioke Ihunwo – Obia/Akpor LGA
  • Princewill Ejekwe – Ogba/Egbema/Ndoni LGA
  • Evans Bipi – Ogu/Bolo LGA
  • Princess Ogan – Okrika LGA
  • Promise Reginald – Omuma LGA   
  • Enyiada Cookey-Gam – Opobo/Nkoro LGA
  • Gogo Philip – Oyigbo LGA – –
  • Ichemati Ezebunwo – Port Harcourt LGA  
  • Matthew Dike – Tai LGA

The political crisis in Rivers escalated on Tuesday, as chairmen who refused to vacate their offices were forced out by protesting youths loyal to Fubara.

According to reports, a policeman was killed during a fight between the protesters loyal to Fubara and those of his predecessor, currently the minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Nyesom Wike, at the Eberi-Omuma office in Omuma Local Government Area.

The ICIR reported on Tuesday that Fubara directed heads of administration to take over 23 LGAs.

Fubara gave the order in a statewide broadcast accompanied by a statement by his chief press secretary (CPS), Nelson Chukwudi.

The directive followed the expiration of the three-year tenure of the elected Chairmen on Monday, June 17.



    Their actions came after the state’s LGA chairmen disclosed that they would remain in office beyond Monday, citing the Rivers State Local Government Amendment Law passed by the Martin Amaewhule-led 27 State House of Assembly members.

    The development was widely believed to be an escalation of tension between Fubara and Wike, as the law was passed by the lawmakers who are loyal to the former governor, in April.

    Fubara refused to sign the law when it was sent to him for assent, but the lawmakers overrode him and passed the bill into law.

    The protesters on Tuesday destroyed Wike’s statue in the Obio Akpor Local Government Area (LGA) of the state where his hometown is situated.

    Bankole Abe
    Reporter at ICIR | [email protected] | Author Page

    A reporter with the ICIR
    A Journalist with a niche for quality and a promoter of good governance

    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement


    - Advertisement