Promoting Good Governance.

SURE–P, NAN, NTA, FRCN Get New Heads

President Goodluck Jonathan on Thursday approved the appointment of new heads for the Nigerian Television Authority, NTA, News Agency of Nigeria, NAN, and the Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria, FRCN, all parastatals under the information ministry.

He also appointed new helmsmen for the Subsidy Reinvestment and Empowerment Programme, SURE-P.

The appointments were made known in a statement issued by the special adviser to the President on media and publicity, Reuben Abati, in Abuja.

While Sola Omole was appointed as the new director-general of the NTA, Ima Niboro, former spokesman to Jonathan, becomes managing director of NAN and Ladan Salihu takes over as director-general of FRCN.

Also, President Jonathan has appointed Martin Luther-Agwai, a retired general, as chairman of the Subsidy Reinvestment and Empowerment Programme, SURE-P and  Tanwa Olusi as the deputy chairman.

The Presidential spokesperson also announced the appointments of Fidelia Njeze as special adviser, New Partnership for Africa’s Development, NEPAD, and Suleiman Ajadi as special adviser on National Assembly Matters.

All the appointments are with immediate effect.

Abati said further that the appointments were made in furtherance of efforts to continually strengthen Jonathan’s administration on all fronts.

Niboro is the immediate-past special adviser to President Jonathan on Media and Publicity. Luther-Agwai, until now, was the deputy chairman and acting chairman of SURE-P, while Njeze is the current Nigerian Ambassador to Switzerland.