33.2 C

Buhari writes Senate, wants confirmation for new ICPC, RMAFC commissioners



1min read

PRESIDENT Muhammadu Buhari has asked the Senate to confirm five persons as commissioners for the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission (ICPC).

The president’s request was contained in a letter read by the Senate President Ahmed Lawan during Tuesday’s plenary.

Buhari, in the letter, explained that the confirmation request was in accordance with the provisions of Section 3(6) of the Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Act, 2000.

The nominees are :Mojisola Yaya-Kolade, Ekiti (South-West); Anne Otelafu Odey, Cross River (South-South); AGoni Ali Gujba, Yobe (North-East); Louis Solomon Mandama, Adamawa (North-East); and Anthony O. Agbo, Ebonyi (South-East).

In a separate letter, Buhari also asked the Senate to confirm the appointment of Mohammed Sanni Baba as a federal commissioner for the Revenue Mobilisation, Allocation and Fiscal Commission representing Bauchi State.

This, according to the president, was in accordance with the provisions of Section 154(1) of the amended 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Support the ICIR

We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.


If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Support the ICIR

We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.



2023: With me as candidate PDP is assured of victory in Kwara – Former ambassador to Japan 

By Dare Akogun A FORMER Nigerian ambassador to Japan Yisa Gana has declared that the...

Buhari appoints Adeyemi as Statistician-General of the Federation

PRESIDENT Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointment of Semiu Adeyemi Adeniran as the substantive...

Lagos police parade sound engineer’s suspected killers

THE Lagos Police Command has paraded six persons over the death of a sound...

NRC cancels resumption of Abuja-Kaduna train services

THE Nigerian Railway Corporation (NRC) has cancelled the planned resumption of train services along...

FCT minister seeks Rotary’s partnership in campaign to end open defecation

THE Minister of State for the Federal Capital Territory, Ramatu Tijjani, has asked Rotary...

Most Read


Subscribe to our newsletter