FCT election: PDP wins AMAC

PEOPLES Democratic Party (PDP) candidate Christopher Zaka has been declared winner of the chairmanship election in Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC) of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declared Zaka winner of the election with a total of 19,302 votes, defeating his closest rival Murtala Karshi of the All Progressives Congress (APC) with over 6,000 votes.

Read also:

    The PDP candidate won elections in ten out of the twelve wards in AMAC.

    Results for five out of six area councils in the FCT have so far been announced by INEC.

    PDP candidates emerged winners in AMAC, Kuje and Bwari while the APC won in Gwagwalada and Kwali.

    Four hundred and seventy-three candidates from 14 political parties took part in the FCT area council elections on Saturday.

    Ijeoma Opara is a journalist with The ICIR. Reach her via [email protected] or @ije_le on Twitter.

    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement