Peseiro names Ahmed Musa, Ndidi, 23 others for AFCON

SUPER Eagles coach Jose Peseiro has released the final 25-man list ahead of the forthcoming 2023 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON), billed to be held in Cote d’Ivoire from January 13, 2024.

The list, which was posted on the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) ‘X’ platform on Friday, December 28, was selected from the 41-man list submitted to the Confederation of Africa Football (CAF).

The list included three goalkeepers, nine defenders, five midfielders and eight forwards.

The list saw the return of captain Ahmed Musa to the squad after he missed out on the starting games of the 2026 FIFA World Cup qualification series.

In the goalkeeping unit, Francis Uzoho may have to contend for his regular starting shirt against South Africa-based goalkeeper Stanley Nwabili, who was selected alongside Olorunleke Ojo.

Kenneth Omeruo will lead the defence line alongside William Ekong, Olaoluwa Aina, Oluwasemilogo Ajayi, Calvin Bassey, Zaidu Sanusi, Chidozie Awaziem, Bright Osayi-Samuel and Bruno Onyemaechi.

Wilfred Ndidi, who missed the World Cup qualifying matches against Lesotho and Zimbabwe, will coordinate the midfield alongside Alex Iwobi, Raphael Onyedika, Joe Ayodele-Aribo and Frank Onyeka.

Musa, alongside Africa Player of the Year Victor Osimhen, Kelechi Iheanacho, Moses Simon, Samuel Chukwueze, Victor Boniface, Sadiq Umar and Ademola Lookman, will play in the forward position.

All 25 players will report to Abu Dhabi, the capital city of the United Arab Emirates, on Tuesday, January 2, for a one-week training camp until Tuesday, 9th January, as Nigeria eyes fourth AFCON title.

At the end of the one week, the team will fly back to Lagos on Tuesday, January 9, and then fly into the Ivorian capital, Abidjan, on Wednesday, January 10.

The Super Eagles will begin their 2023 AFCON campaign against Equatorial Guinea on Sunday, January 14, in their first match of Group A, before slugging it out against host Cote d’Ivoire on January 18 and Guinea Bissau on January 22.

Nigeria won the AFCON title three times, in 1980, 1994 and 2013.



    All invited players:

    Goalkeepers: Stanley Nwabili (Chippa United, South Africa); Francis Uzoho (Omonia FC, Cyprus); Olorunleke Ojo (Enyimba FC)

    Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Nottingham Forest, England); Chidozie Awaziem (Boavista FC, Portugal); Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce FC, Turkey); William Troost-Ekong (PAOK Salonika, Greece); Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista FC, Portugal); Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa FC, Turkey); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Calvin Bassey (Fulham FC, England); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal)

    Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Raphael Onyedika (Club Brugge, Belgium); Joe Ayodele-Aribo (Southampton FC, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Fulham FC, England)

    Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Sivasspor K, Turkey); Victor Osimhen (Napoli SC, Italy); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Sadiq Umar (Real Sociedad, Spain); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Ademola Lookman (Atalanta FC, Italy); Samuel Chukwueze (AC Milan, Italy); Victor Boniface (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany)




    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement


    - Advertisement