Musa, Al-Makura, withdraw from APC chairmanship race, back Adamu

MOHAMMED Sani Musa, one of the frontline aspirants for the national chairman office of the All Progressives Congress (APC), has withdrawn from the race.

Musa’s withdrawal was contained in a statement issued today, March 26, 2022, by his spokesman, Nasir Mohammed.

Muhammed said that Musa’s decision followed a meeting by all aspirants vying for the party’s chairmanship with President Muhammadu Buhari on Friday.

Read also:

The statement announced Musa’s support for Abdullahi Adamu, who the president has anointed as the consensus candidate for the party.

    Another aspirant that withdrew from the race and is supporting Adamu is Tanko Al-Makura.

    Al-Makura’s withdrawal was conveyed today by his spokesperson, Danjuma Joseph.

    Al-Makura had earlier vowed he would not withdraw from the race because of the speculation that President Buhari was endorsing Adamu for the position.

    The APC reiterated on Friday that it preferred candidates contesting national working committee (NWC) positions to emerge through a consensus.

    You can reach out to me on Twitter via: vincent_ufuoma

    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.


    Most read