21.1 C

ICIR reporter, five other Nigerian journalists emerge finalists for African journalism prize


1min read

SIX Nigerians from various media organisations including a reporter from The ICIR, Kunle Adebajo, have emerged finalist for the 2019 edition of the West Africa Media Excellence Awards (WAMECA).

The information disclosed on its official website stated  WAMECA 2019 edition received 724 entries from fifteen countries in West Africa, whereby entries were thoroughly reviewed by a five-member jury of the award and twenty-one finalists shortlisted from six countries.

Among the six Nigerians shortlisted for the award, is Adebajo, an investigative reporter and fact-checker for the International Centre for Investigative Reporter (ICIR), whose entry report centred on various government ministries with valid official electronic mail addresses that do not function.

The report specifically showed how enquiries sent to twenty-six official email addresses belonging to the federal ministries including the Office of the Secretary to Government of the Federation (OSGF) was not responded to.

In his report, only four of the federal ministries responded, after a reminder was sent following a week of no response from the email addresses made available on their official website.

Adebajo’s investigation shows that out of the twenty-six addresses mailed, eleven were not available and of the fifteen which were valid, only three responded.

- Advertisement -

The four ministeries that responded included; The ministry of Finance; The ministry of Power, Works and Housing; The Ministry of Industry, Trade and Investment and the Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development.

Other Nigerians who also emerged finalist for the awards include; Odinaka Anudu─ Business Day; Aneta Chineye─ TV360; Cletus Ukpong─ Premium Times; Tobore Ovuorie─ Nations Newspaper and Tunde Ajaja─ Punch Newspaper.

The award recipients also feature; Eight awardees from Ghana,  four from Burkina Faso and one from Senegal, Cote D’ Ivoire and Liberia respectively.

The Executive Director of Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA) Sulemana Braimah, said the award was aimed at showcasing and honouring journalism excellence, an objective according to him aimed at improving quality and independent journalism in West Africa.

The West Africa Media Excellence Conference and Awards is an annual initiative of the MFWA to promote media excellence in the sub-region.

ICIR reporter, Amos Abba

Similarly, another ICIR reporter, Amos Abba has made the finalist roll call for the 2019 Kurt Schrock award for the international journalist.

The award recognises journalists for their brave and courageous reporting on conflict, corruption and injustice.

- Advertisement -


If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Support the ICIR

We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.


Publish transition plan for PIA to avoid repeat of power privatisation mistakes, experts tell FG

ENERGY analysts have challenged the Federal Government to go beyond the scrapping of some...

Turkish president will ask Buhari to shut down Nile University, NTIC, others during visit to Nigeria

TURKISH President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan would again ask the Nigerian government to close down...

How women group constructs road in Abuja community to ease movement

By Ekpali SAINT AT about 5:30 p.m. on  Friday of May 2019, Khadijat Yunusa was...

Centre decries spike in cholera outbreak, tasks FG on urgent solutions

THE Centre for Environmental Sustainability and Development Awareness (CESDA), on Tuesday, asked the Federal...

#EndSARS: Falana says son will protest on Wednesday

  RENOWNED lawyer and human rights activist Femi Falana has said that his son will...

Most Read


Subscribe to our newsletter