26.1 C

Senegal clinches 5th African title from 5 CAF tournaments


SENEGAL came from a goal down to beat Morocco 2-1 to win the 2023 UN-17 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) tournament in Algeria, on Friday, May 19.

The final match was played at the Nelson Mandela Stadium in Algiers.

This is the fifth consecutive time Senegal is winning a competition organised by the Confederation of African Football (CAF), at different levels.

Senegal, since 2022 began to make a statement in African football after winning their first Africa Cup of Nations in the senior category when they defeated in the final Egypt in the final after a penalty shootout.

Also in the same year, at the Africa Beach Soccer Cup of Nation (BSAFCON) Senegal who were the defending champions, retained the title after defeating Egypt in the final to secure their 7th title.

In February 2023, at the African Nations Championship, abbreviated as CHAN, Senegal defeated Algeria 5-4 to win the title for the first time.

In March 2023, Senegal, who had thrice lost in the CAF U-20 Africa Cup of Nations final, got their hands on the trophy by beating The Gambia 2-0 in Cairo.

Senegal continued its recent dominance of CAF competitions by defeating Morocco in a dramatic contest to win the UN-17 AFCON on Friday.

This means that Senegal won all the age-group CAF tournaments since 2022.

Late comeback win earns Senegal UN-17 AFCON title

Senegal won the UN-17 AFCON title in a late drama after Serigne Diouf reduced the deficit for the Lions of Teranga after converting from the spot in the 79th minute.

Four minutes later, Senegal completed the turnaround when Mamadou Sawane headed home to seal the victory for the team.

Earlier in the 14th minute of the match, Morocco’s Abdelhamid Boudla had given the North African side the lead.

Road to the final

The competition which lasted for three weeks was replete with daunting, fun and heart-throbbing actions in the Algerian cities of Algiers, Annaba and Constantine,

Eleven teams began the action, but four were able to get a ticket to the FIFA World Cup. The four teams are Burkina Faso, Mali, Morocco and Senegal.

Individual awards at the tournament

Senegal swept 3 out of the 5 awards.

Senegalese forward Amara Diouf emerged as the top goal scorer while the goalkeeper Sergine Diouf emerged as the best goalkeeper of the tournament.

    Senegalese coach Serigne Saliou got the best coach of the tournament.

    The runner-up Morocco won the Fair Play Award.

    Souleymane Alio of Burkina Faso won the award of the best player of the tournament.

    In the third-place playoff, Burkina Faso finished as the third defeating Mali 2-1 in Annaba on Thursday night.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.


    CMPA canvasses preventive approach in anti-corruption campaign

    A NON-governmental organisation, Centre for Media, Policy and Accountability (CMPA) has called on government...

    Five Nigerian musicians nominated for 2023 BET Awards

    FIVE Nigerian musicians have been nominated for the 2023 edition of the Black Entertainment...

    Unification of exchange rates will check illegal economic activities – ABCON President

    THE president of the Association of Bureau De Change Operators of Nigeria (ABCON), Aminu...

    How Nigeria Health Watch integrated ‘sojo’ into national media organisations — MD

    THE Managing Director, Nigeria Health Watch, Vivianne Ihekweazu, has said solution journalism, also known as...

    Govt agents behind most attacks on Nigerian journalists — NGE

    THE Nigerian Guild of Editors (NGE) has said government agents, including security operatives and...

    Most Read

    Subscribe to our newsletter